Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

An interdisciplinary master’s programme at the university of bayreuth

Master’s programme Polymer Science

Print page
Female Student, Chemistry, University of Bayreuth.


Welcome to the homepage of the master’s programme Polymer Science

Meeting the technological and related social challenges of the 21st century in areas such as mobility, energy, information, safety, and medicine requires the investigation of synthetic polymers and biomacromolecules and the construction of new multi-functional polymers with a view to complex structures.

Systems based on macromolecular materials are essential for key technologies and provide the means to ensure communication, comfort, health, and quality of life in society, both at present and in the future. The extremely broad spectrum of polymers ranges from components for the automotive and aircraft industries to new data storage media in communications technology to special polymers used in medicine, such as in syringes and vessel materials, sensors for medical diagnostics, structures to carefully release active ingredients, in addition to new biodegradable polymers for tissue and organ reconstruction.  

A distinguishing feature of the University of Bayreuth is the profile it has developed in research and teaching by defining priorities known as the “focus areas”. The focus area Polymer & Colloid Science has been a successful research priority since 1975, achieving visibility in Germany and beyond. The concentration of a number of different research groups working in this area in chemistry, physics, and engineering is unusual and contributes to the University of Bayreuth’s unmistakable profile. Bundling resources into well-defined interdisciplinary subject areas provides a basis for attractive training opportunities as well as leading modern research that is internationally competitive.

The master’s programme Polymer Science

Concept of the master’s programme

The programme covers all the key areas of modern polymer science: polymer synthesis, polymer analytics, polymer and colloid chemistry, polymer physics, polymer processing, polymer technology, catalyst design, biomacromolecules, and biomaterials. Students are introduced to current research topics at an early stage. They develop their basic and practical skills in all fields of polymer science with the benefit of small teams and personal contact to their lecturers.

Who is a good fit for the programme?

The master’s programme Polymer Science is geared to students who are interested in issues relating to materials science and the natural sciences, who want to work on a pioneering class of materials, and who hope to one day take on a high level of responsibility in a company, research institute, or higher education institution. Admission requirements for the master's programme include a first cycle degree (Bachelor of Science) in chemistry, polymer and colloid chemistry, biochemistry, physics, materials science, or a related discipline.

Doctoral research and career prospects

The doctoral programme Polymer Science offered by the Bayreuth Graduate School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences (BayNAT) gives successful graduates of master’s programmes the opportunity to pursue a doctoral degree. Especially talented students are given the opportunity to take part in the elite degree programme Macromolecular Science parallel to the master’s or doctoral programme.

Graduates of the master’s programme Polymer Science – especially those who go on to complete a doctorate – are particularly sought after in the chemical industry and related industrial sectors. They are well-positioned to work in a variety of fields for large companies, SMEs, universities, and non-university research institutes. After earning their doctoral degrees, graduates are qualified to pursue a range of interesting leadership positions in Germany and abroad.

Webmaster: Univ.Prof.Dr. Hans-Werner Schmidt

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Contact

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Ein interdisziplinär angelegter Studiengang an der Universität Bayreuth

Masterstudiengang Polymer Science

Seite drucken
Studentin der Chemie an der Universität Bayreuth hält ein Reagenzglas in der Hand.


Willkommen auf der Homepage des Masterstudiengangs „Polymer Science“

Die Erforschung von synthetischen Polymeren und Biomakromolekülen sowie der Aufbau neuartiger multifunktioneller Polymere im Hinblick auf komplexe Strukturen ist notwendig, um die technologischen und damit verbundenen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts in Bereichen wie z. B. Mobilität, Energie, Information, Sicherheit und Medizin zu bewältigen.


Systeme basierend auf makromolekularen Materialien, sind essenziell für Schlüsseltechnologien und ermöglichen es Kommunikation, Lebensqualität, Komfort und Gesundheit der Gesellschaft auch in Zukunft sicherzustellen. Das extrem breite Anwendungsspektrum der Polymere reicht von Formteilen für die Auto- und Flugzeugindustrie bis hin zu neuen Datenträgern in der modernen Kommunikationstechnologie und zu Spezialpolymeren für die Medizin, z.B. Spritzen und Gefäßmaterialien, Sensoren für die medizinische Diagnostik, Trägern für die schonende Freisetzung von Wirkstoffen und neuen bioabbaubaren Polymeren für die Gewebe- und Organrekonstruktion.

Die Universität Bayreuth zeichnet sich durch eine fokussierte Profilbildung in Forschung und Lehre aus, die sich in der Definition von fachübergreifenden Profilfeldern niederschlägt. Das Profilfeld „Polymer- und Kolloidforschung“ ist bereits seit 1975 ein erfolgreicher, national und international sichtbarer Forschungsschwerpunkt. Die Konzentration einer Vielzahl von Arbeitsgruppen aus Chemie, Physik und Ingenieurswissenschaften auf diesem Forschungsgebiet ist selten und trägt zum unverwechselbaren Profil der Universität Bayreuth bei. Die Bündelung der Ressourcen auf wohldefinierte interdisziplinäre Fachgebiete ist eine Grundlage für moderne international konkurrenzfähige Spitzenforschung und ein attraktives Lehrangebot.

Masterstudiengang „Polymer Science“

Konzept des Studiengangs

Der Bayreuther Masterstudiengang „Polymer Science“ ist ein naturwissenschaftlich orientierter Studiengang mit Ingenieurelementen und umfasst alle wichtigen Gebiete der modernen Polymerwissenschaft: Polymersynthese, Polymeranalytik, Polymer- und Kolloidchemie, Polymerphysik, Polymerverarbeitung, Polymertechnologie, Katalysatordesign, Biomakromoleküle und Biomaterialien. Die Studierenden werden frühzeitig mit aktuellen Forschungsthemen vertraut gemacht. Im persönlichen Kontakt mit ihren Dozenten sowie in kleinen Teams erwerben sie grundlagen- und anwendungsbezogene Kompetenzen auf allen Gebieten der Polymerwissenschaft.

An wen richtet sich der Studiengang?

Der Masterstudiengang „Polymer Science“ wendet sich an Studierende, die ein Interesse an natur- und materialwissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen mitbringen, an einer zukunftsweisenden Materialklasse arbeiten wollen und eine verantwortungsvolle Tätigkeit in Unternehmen, Forschungsinstituten oder Hochschulen anstreben. Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme am Studiengang ist ein erster Studienabschluss (Bachelor of Science) in den Fachrichtungen Chemie, Polymer- und Kolloidchemie, Biochemie, Physik, Materialwissenschaften oder in verwandten Disziplinen.

Promotion und berufliche Perspektiven

Erfolgreiche Masterabsolventen haben im Promotionsprogramm „Polymer Science“ der Bayreuther Graduiertenschule für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften (BayNAT) die Möglichkeit zur Promotion. Besonders qualifizierte Studierende erhalten die Möglichkeit, parallel zu Master und Promotion am Elitestudienprogramm „Macromolecular Science“ teilzunehmen.

Die Absolventen des Masterstudiengangs „Polymer Science“ treffen insbesondere nach abgeschlossener Promotion, auf eine hohe Nachfrage seitens der chemischen Industrie, der Kunststoff erzeugenden und verarbeitenden Industrie und verwandter Industriezweige. Sie sind hervorragend qualifiziert für eine Vielzahl beruflicher Arbeitsfelder in Großunternehmen und mittelständischen Firmen, an Universitäten und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen. Nach einer Promotion stehen Absolventen interessante Führungspositionen im In- und Ausland offen.

Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Univ.Prof.Dr. Hans-Werner Schmidt

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog